The Men Who Swallowed the Sun by Egyptian author Hamdi Abu Golayyel, translated by Humphrey Davies (Hoopoe, 2022), is among the three shortlisted works for the 2022 Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize for Arabic Literary Translation.

In their official online announcement

This month Hoopoe is offering you the chance to be one of the three lucky winners to receive a free copy of the gripping novel The Night Will Have Its Say by the International Booker Prize finalist Ibrahim al-Koni, translated …

Amelia Smith from the Middle East Monitor interviews Libyan author Ibrahim al-Koni about his novel The Night Will Have Its Say, translated by Nancy Roberts (Hoopoe, 2022).


“It is the seventh century CE and the Ummayad forces are advancing …

Can’t decide what to read this summer?

He has some great suggestions for you! Here are eight great Hoopoe novels to travel to….

 

The Lady of Zamalek
By Ashraf El-Ashmawi, translated by Peter Daniel

Spanning twentieth-century Egyptian history and …

 

After making the 2022 Eric Hoffer Book Award Grand Prize short list last month, Nektaria Anastasiadou’s bestselling debut novel A Recipe for Daphne (Hoopoe, 2021), set among Istanbul’s Rum Orthodox Christians, received an honorable mention in the General Fiction

The winner of the 2021 Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize is Rasha Adly’s novel, Shaghaf, “superbly translated” into English by Sarah Enany as The Girl with Braided Hair, published by Hoopoe (2020), the AUC Press literary imprint.

“We are delighted …

Don’t miss this very special webinar!

Tuesday, January 11
7pm Cairo / 5pm London / 12pm New York / 9am Los Angeles
Zoom registration https://bit.ly/32CiFfQ

 

Join us for a rare Virtual Book Talk with Jonathan Smolin, translator of I

Peter Daniel, a long-term resident of Egypt, has worked as a teacher of Arabic as a foreign language and an Arabic-to-English translator for many years. In this interview, he looks at the challenges he faced translating Ashraf El–Ashmawi’s The Lady

Ever since Nektaria Anastasiadou’s A Recipe for Daphne came out (Hoopoe, 2021), so many readers have posted comments about the novel!

“A wonderful companion”

“Delightful”

“An emotional story full of longing and laughter”

“Eagerly await your next story”

“[A] gem”…

 

In this Hoopoe podcast with Ashraf El-Ashmawi, the award-winning Egyptian author of the intriguing novel The Lady of Zamalek, translated by Peter Daniel (Hoopoe, 2021), tells us about his characters and the various ladies of Zamalek, the historical …

© American University in Cairo Press 2022|Website made by Bookswarm